Connecting to the internet ... EDGE not visible

Discussion in 'iPhone Discussion & Support' started by data2mind, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. data2mind

    data2mind New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1

    I have seen all the posts for connecting to the Net. Going to Settigns > General > Networks I find that I have only options for VPN and WiFi. No EDGE.

    I want to use the data access provided by my cellphone provider (Vodafone) here in India.

    I can see the E icon from time to time at the top too but when I start the browser or Cydia I get the message that I am not subscribed to any data network, but I am.

    My iPhone is unlocked and has 2.0.2 (5C1). I also have Cydia but this nor the Installer / iTunes works because they try to connect to the internet and cannot do so. I do not have WiFi :(

    Can someone please help - how do I get EDGE working so I can connect to the net.
     
  2. vikram

    vikram New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1

    I am facing the same problem with i phone upgraded to 2.02 ..seeking ur help & advice
     
  3. tannyfiles

    tannyfiles New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1

    GPRS EDGE Settings for firmware 2.x.x and 2.1

    For all those looking for a easier way to enable their GPRS/EDGE settings, on Firmware 2.x.x, or 2.1, visit this site on iPhones Safari.

    w**.unlockit.co.nz/custom.php

    It automatically changes your settings to accept GPRS, albeit it wont show up on ur setting page.

    Tanny!!
     
  4. cobalt.rednitaj

    cobalt.rednitaj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    89

    i think this is a bug in 2,.2 version! try and upgrade to another firmware!
     
  5. imac

    imac New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1

    Same problem here

    Hi,
    Neither I can see the option to configure EDGE on my iphone. In "General" I see Cellular Data Network and there I can set my APN, username and Password. But I don't see an option to configure proxy settings etc.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  6. garykirsten63

    garykirsten63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    174

    I am from Bhutan and I am just thinking of solving this as I want to use Vodafone internet through edge. Any help will be highly appreciated.
     
  7. devan.gray

    devan.gray New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1

    since up my iphone 3.1.3 can not use edge data can someone help my unit is jailbroken