iphone 3G sim card

Discussion in 'iPhone 3G' started by Dennis, Jul 6, 2011.

1. Dennis

Dennis New Member

Hello! I am brand new to Apple. I just bought a good used iphone 3G with no sim card. I wish to use the device for wi-fi connection only at this time (no cell right now). But I think it won't work without a sim. Right? If it needs a sim, can i get one cheap online?

2. Iloveiphones

Iloveiphones Well-Known Member

You could, but why not just get an ipod touch? That way nothing down the road can be bumpy. Im guessing thought you could put a prepaid sim in there, 3GS only

3. Dennis

Dennis New Member

Good thought, and we have looked into the iPod touch. However, it will not allow a headphone/microphone combo for hands-free (as in the kitchen) VOip talking. Secondly, some time down the road we will be adding a cell carrier for talking, just not right now. We can't afford cell right now. Wi-fi only is fine for now. So that's why the iPhone. where can i get a cheap sim? Thanks!

4. Iloveiphones

To warn you, this really isn't my area of helping. But I think you can buy one off eBay, then go to walmart and get a pay as you go or prepaid SIM. but it has to be a 3GS, becuase the iPhone 4 uses a microSIM.

The iPod touch does have microphone capabilities, and speaker. And it does allow a headphone with a microphone in it if that's what you mean.

5. Dennis

Dennis New Member

Thanks! I ordered a sim card for iPhone 3G online. Will the iPhone still be able to connect to Wi-Fi even AFTER i cancel the carrier?

6. Iloveiphones

You should. If I pop my AT&T sim out I can still get wifi

7. dawn young

dawn young New Member

I dropped my i phone is water, now what?

8. JimBrown

JimBrown Member

We all know that iPhone cannot function even as an iPod without being activated with a rate plan first.

We also know that the ATT sim card can be used in a different unlocked phone.

So my questions are: