SIM Card Needed?

Discussion in 'iPhone 2G' started by uazwildcats, Jun 25, 2007.

  1. uazwildcats

    uazwildcats Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    10

    Hi, I'm asuming as a current ATT/Cingular customer that I can put my current SIM card in the iPhone. Is this how it works or does it get linked/setup a different way?

    Thanks in advance, Sean
     
  2. Alex

    Alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    302

    Yes. During the keynote Steve Jobs said:

     
  3. uazwildcats

    uazwildcats Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    10

    Thank you!!! Somehow I missed that...I guess it didn't seem important back then...but man, it is!
     
  4. attagirl2

    attagirl2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    138

    Yes knowing whether or not you will need a sim card is very important. I like the fact that you can use a sim card. I really prefer them in a phone service. The only downside is if you move you need to get a new one.
     
  5. Kia06

    Kia06 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    26

    Sim cards are good, since you can easily change phones without all of the hassle.
     
  6. Jamson

    Jamson Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    41

    Well that is a handy feature, i didn't hear that either! Thanks Alex. :)

    Too bad the iPhone isn't available in Australia yet. :( Not fair. I guess you could say they are rubbing it in? ;)
     
  7. anomalight

    anomalight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    64

    Yes and no; you can put your SIM in it, but it will not work until you activate it in iTunes.

    -a
     
  8. attagirl2

    attagirl2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    138

    Yes if you are a current customer of at&t you should be able to use the sim card in any phone you purchase for use with the service.
     
  9. anomalight

    anomalight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    64

    Should be, but remember, this is Apple we're talking about:

    From the iPhone site:
    "If you already have a SIM card note that not all SIM cards work with iPhone."

    And, regardless, you still need to register the phone and select a data plan (even the iPod feature will not work without doing this).

    -a
     
  10. Neo

    Neo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    46

    the sim will not fit in any other phone but the iPhone. U can switch between iPhones but it is too big for any other at&t phone I've ever seen.