Removing Custom Ringtones

Discussion in 'iPhone Newbies' started by Grizz, Jan 30, 2009.

1. Grizz

Grizz Member

Just like the title says, I finally managed to get some custom ringtones on my iPhone after several days of trying with an awsome program that a 2 yr old could use. Unfortunately, the first one I loaded was too short and cuts off after about 1/2 a second. Does anyone know how I can remove it from the "Custom Ringtones" section of my iPhone??

2. SpoiledAngel

SpoiledAngel Active Member

You could try opening iphone-interface rmdir /var/root/Library/Ringtones/Song.mp3 and you should be able to delete it that way. If no luck you can also download the drag and drop program and then just go to your ringtones and delete it. Best of luck!!

3. Grizz

Grizz Member

I'm a complete noob when it comes to the iPhone, can anyone explain how I would navigate to that section of the memory?? Also, what is the "drag and drop" program called so I can try to find it if the first suggestion does not work. Thanks for all the help...

4. jamesb

jamesb Well-Known Member

I just hook up my phone to my computer and find the file with the ringtones inside of it. I then simply delete those ringtones that I no longer want. It is similar as what the previous poster does.

5. Grizz

Grizz Member

I am not sure if you Jail broke your phone or not but mine is stock. When I connect it to my computer, the only option I have so search any files is to use iTunes. When I expand the list, it does show the "Ringtones" section however there is nothing contained within that folder. Thant being said, when I go into the Ringtones section on my actual phone it shows several "Custom" ringtones available. Either way, so far, I am unable to delete any of them.

6. SpoiledAngel